ONE OK ROCK at The Wiltern, Los Angeles

live report - 07.09.2017 01:01

ONE OK ROCK leaves the Los Angeles crowd wanting more.

As they approached the last few weeks of their North American 2017 tour, mega rock band ONE OK ROCK stopped by Los Angeles to play a two-night show at The Wiltern on August 11th and 12th. In the last several years, the band has found great success in the states and has even been on tour with a few renowned Western acts including Yellowcard, 5 Seconds of Summer, and Issues.

Earlier this year, ONE OK ROCK released their latest album, Ambitions, in both Japanese and English. This album represents their "ambitions" to hit a new market and go worldwide with their music. After this 20+ cities North American tour, they will embark on a world tour, playing in many countries including the United Kingdom, Russia, and Australia.

The band opened the show with hit tracks off of their new album. Right from the beginning of Bombs Away, TAKA, TORU, RYOTA, and TOMOYA were all booming with energy as if they want to remind the fans that they were here and it was time to rock.

As the half way point of the concert approached, TAKA paused to remind the audience about a recent tragedy that had happened. As many have heard by now, the frontman of Linkin Park, Chester Bennington, has passed away. ONE OK ROCK was scheduled to tour with Linkin Park as one of their special guests. With deep sadness, ONE OK ROCK played a tribute to the late singer and covered One More Light. From there, the band performed a string of ballads that included a partial acoustic version of Take what you want.

As the show continued, with the rest of the songs from Ambitions performed, ONE OK ROCK threw in a few of their popular singles, Clock Strikes, The Beginning, and Mighty Long Fall. During the bridge of Mighty Long Fall, TAKA hopped off the stage and rushed to the back of the audience to conclude the song. As he rejoined the rest of the members on stage, the song We Are began with the crowd immediately singing together. At the end of the night, the band concluded with the hit track American Girls as their encore.

ONE OK ROCK has been one of the few bands that continually come back to perform in the states and with each time, they leave the fans wanting more. However, with a band that is so active in their overseas activities, fans may not have to wait long for another amazing show.

Set list

01. Ambitions -Introduction-
02. Bombs Away
03. Taking Off
04. Clock Strikes
05. Bedroom Warfare
06. Bon Voyage
07. I was King
08. One More Light (Linkin Park cover)
09. Take what you want
10. The Beginning
11. Jaded
12. Mighty Long Fall
13. We Are
14. American Girls
related artists
related concerts and events

Los Angeles, CA - United States of America
The Wiltern

Los Angeles, CA - United States of America
The Wiltern
blog comments powered by Disqus
related gallery

  • Chaotic Harmony